COMPLICATIONS OF UNCONTROLLED DIABETES

Untreated or improperly managed diabetes can result in a variety of complications, some of which can be quite serious. The good news is by taking control of your diabetes, you can help minimize the risk of these complications.

SKIN PROBLEMS


Skin problems can occur in people with diabetes, including:
  • Bacterial infections, like sties (painful lumps near the edge of your eyelid) and carbuncles (a painful cluster of boils)
  • Itchy rashes in the folds of your skin (caused by yeast-like fungi)
  • Dry skin

High blood sugar can cause dehydration and poor circulation that may play a role in causing these problems.

You can prevent skin problems by taking care of your skin daily. If you think you have a bacterial or fungal infection, call your physician. For more information on skin care, check out our helpful resources.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

FOOT PROBLEMS

People who have diabetes are more likely to have foot problems, including:
  • Loss of sensation (numbness caused by nerve damage)
  • Dry skin
  • Cracked heels
  • Heavy callus formation
  • Changes in foot shape
  • Changes in nail growth
  • Painful foot ulcers
  • Slower healing

These problems are caused by poor circulation of the blood, which means less oxygen reaches the cells in the feet. Nerve damage usually is a result of poor blood sugar management over an extended period of time. Damaged nerves can cause you to have little or no sensitivity in your feet to temperature, pressure or pain. If your feet get too hot, maybe because of hot bath water, they can suffer a burn and you may not feel it. You may not feel injuries, such as when you step on a sharp object or when blisters form if your shoes are too tight. This loss of sensation makes the skin of the feet vulnerable. Damage can occur and you might not know it.

It is important to learn how to take care of your feet so that you can reduce or even prevent these problems. Find out more.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page
 

GUM (PERIODONTAL) DISEASE

When sugar levels are high in the blood, they are also high in the saliva. Bacteria feed on saliva sugar and grow in the mouth, causing gum or “periodontal” disease. Periodontal disease, or infections in the mouth, can hurt your gums and bone, which hold teeth in place.

You can prevent periodontal disease by practicing good oral hygiene and making regular visits to your dentist.

Read more about oral care.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

LONG-TERM COMPLICATIONS

Over time, untreated or poorly managed diabetes can result in more serious health issues, including heart disease, stroke, kidney disease, eye damage, erectile dysfunction in males and nerve damage.

 

HEART DISEASE AND STROKE

People with diabetes are at very high risk of heart disease and stroke. In fact, it is believed that heart disease may develop 10 to 15 years earlier in people with diabetes than in people without diabetes.

High blood sugar, being overweight (especially having excess abdominal fat), being inactive, and having high blood pressure and cholesterol are all contributing factors to the increased risk of heart disease and stroke.

It is important to work closely with your healthcare team to create a plan that addresses all of these risk factors.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

KIDNEY DISEASE

Kidney disease is a serious complication associated with poorly controlled diabetes. Over the years, high blood sugar levels can damage blood vessels in the kidneys, preventing them from filtering blood properly. Without treatment, the kidneys will eventually fail.

Taking control of your blood sugar and blood pressure can help reduce the risk of kidney disease. Make sure you are testing your blood sugar regularly with your CONTOUR® meter. Remember, you don’t always feel high or low blood sugar. Testing with your CONTOUR® meter provides an accurate reading you can trust.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

EYE DAMAGE

Diabetes is the leading cause of blindness in Canada. People with diabetes are more likely to develop cataracts at a younger age and are twice as likely to develop glaucoma, but diabetic retinopathy – a disease that affects the retina of the eye – is the biggest threat to vision in people with diabetes. Damage to blood vessels and swelling due to uncontrolled blood glucose are to blame for eye problems in diabetes.

Visiting your optometrist once a year and maintaining good control of blood glucose, blood pressure and cholesterol can all help prevent diabetic retinopathy and other vision related complications of diabetes.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

ERECTILE DYSFUNCTION (ED)

Erectile dysfunction is the persistent inability to get or maintain an erection that is satisfactory for sexual activity.

Older men with a longer duration of diabetes, poor blood glucose control, or who smoke, have high blood pressure, high cholesterol and heart disease or have lower than average levels of male hormones, are at highest risk of ED.

Diabetes causes damage to the walls of the blood vessels, which affects circulation and blood flow to the penis. In addition, nerve damage can affect erection quality. Erectile dysfunction can also be a side effect of drugs that are often prescribed to men with diabetes, including some blood pressure-lowering drugs.

There are medical treatments for ED, but maintaining good blood glucose is key to good vascular health as well. While it may be embarrassing to bring up the topic of ED to your healthcare professional, it is important to do so in order to identify exactly what is causing the problem and how best to treat it.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

Nerve damage

Exposure to high blood glucose levels over an extended period of time causes damage to the peripheral nerves – the nerves that go to the arms, hands, legs, and feet. This is called diabetic peripheral neuropathy.

Diabetic peripheral neuropathy increases the risk for foot ulcers and amputation. Due to nerve damage in their feet and toes, people with diabetes, who have diabetic peripheral neuropathy, often do not notice minor cuts, sores, or blisters in these areas. If left untreated, these small wounds can easily become infected, lead to gangrene, and may eventually require amputation of the affected area.

The good news is you can take control of your diabetes and reduce the risk of some of these complications by achieving and maintaining good blood glucose control and working closely and continuously with your healthcare team.

People who take charge of their diabetes can have average blood glucose levels near normal. Your A1C (or HbA1C) is a measure of average blood glucose over the previous 3 to 4 months. Lowering your A1C by just 1% can help reduce your risk of future problems such as eye disease, kidney disease and nerve damage. Learn more about how you can take control of your diabetes.

Back to top Go back to the top of the page

Save $3.00 off Dermal Therapy heel care

Actively restores moisture.
Helps prevent and heal hard,
dry, cracked heels.

Living with diabetes and atrial fibrillation?
Take control

Talk to your doctor about how to reduce your risk for stroke.

English

COMPLICATIONS D’UN DIABÈTE NON MAÎTRISÉ

Un diabète non traité ou mal maîtrisé peut entraîner diverses complications, parfois très graves. La bonne nouvelle, c’est que vous pouvez limiter le risque de survenue de ces complications en maîtrisant votre diabète.

Problèmes cutanés


Les problèmes cutanés qui peuvent survenir chez les personnes diabétiques sont notamment les suivants :
  • infections bactériennes, comme l’orgelet (petite excroissance douloureuse en bordure de la paupière) et l’anthrax (agglomération douloureuse de plusieurs furoncles);
  • éruptions cutanées prurigineuses dans les plis de la peau (causées par des champignons de type levure);
  • peau sèche.

L’hyperglycémie peut entraîner une déshydratation et une mauvaise circulation qui peuvent jouer un rôle dans la survenue de ces problèmes.

Vous pouvez prévenir les problèmes cutanés en prenant soin de votre peau au quotidien. Si vous pensez être atteint d’une infection bactérienne ou fongique, communiquez avec votre médecin. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les soins de la peau, consultez la section Ressources utiles.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

PROBLÈMES DE PIEDS

Les personnes atteintes de diabète sont plus susceptibles de présenter des problèmes de pieds, dont les suivants :
  • perte de sensation (engourdissement dû à des lésions nerveuses)
  • peau sèche
  • talons gercés
  • formation de callosités épaisses
  • changement de forme des pieds
  • altération de la pousse des
  • ulcères douloureux des pieds
  • guérison plus lente

Ces problèmes sont dus à la mauvaise circulation sanguine, qui restreint l’apport d’oxygène aux cellules des pieds. Les lésions nerveuses sont généralement attribuables à un mauvais équilibre de la glycémie pendant une période prolongée. Ces lésions peuvent rendre les pieds moins sensibles, voire totalement insensibles, à la chaleur, au froid, à la pression ou à la douleur. Si vos pieds sont insensibles à la chaleur, vous pourriez vous brûler en entrant dans un bain chaud, par exemple, sans vous en rendre compte. Vous pourriez vous blesser aux pieds sans vous en rendre compte, par exemple en marchant sur un objet tranchant ou en attrapant des ampoules en raison de chaussures trop serrées. Cette perte de sensation rend la peau des pieds vulnérable et les blessures aux pieds peuvent passer inaperçues.

Il est important que vous appreniez à prendre soin de vos pieds pour limiter ou éviter ces problèmes. En savoir plus.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page
 

MALADIE PARODONTALE (MALADIE DES GENCIVES)

Lorsque le taux de sucre est élevé dans le sang, il l’est aussi dans la salive. Les bactéries se nourrissent du sucre contenu dans la salive et se multiplient dans la bouche, causant la maladie des gencives, ou maladie parodontale. La maladie parodontale ou les infections de la bouche peuvent porter atteinte aux gencives et aux os de la mâchoire qui tiennent les dents en place.

Vous pouvez prévenir la maladie parodontale en adoptant une bonne hygiène buccale et en allant régulièrement chez votre dentiste.

En savoir plus sur les soins buccaux.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

COMPLICATIONS À LONG TERME

Au fil du temps, un diabète non traité ou mal maîtrisé peut entraîner des problèmes de santé plus graves, notamment cardiopathie, accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC), maladie rénale, lésions oculaires, dysfonction érectile et lésions nerveuses.

 

CARDIOPATHIE ET AVC

Les personnes atteintes de diabète sont exposées à un risque élevé de cardiopathie et d’AVC. En fait, on estime que la cardiopathie peut apparaître de 10 à 15 ans plus tôt en présence de diabète.

Un taux élevé de sucre dans le sang, le surpoids (en particulier l’excès de graisse abdominale), la sédentarité, l’hypertension artérielle et un taux élevé de cholestérol sont autant de facteurs qui contribuent au risque accru de cardiopathie et d’AVC.

Il est important de collaborer étroitement avec son équipe soignante afin d’établir un plan qui tient compte de tous ces facteurs.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

MALADIE RÉNALE

La maladie rénale est une complication grave associée à un diabète mal maîtrisé. Au fil des années, les taux élevés de sucre dans le sang peuvent porter atteinte aux vaisseaux sanguins des reins et empêcher les reins de filtrer le sang correctement. Faute de traitement, les reins finissent par cesser de fonctionner.

L’équilibre de la glycémie et la maîtrise de la tension artérielle peuvent aider à réduire le risque de maladie rénale. Analysez régulièrement votre glycémie avec votre indicateur CONTOUR®. N’oubliez pas que l’hyperglycémie ou l’hypoglycémie peuvent passer inaperçues. Votre indicateur CONTOUR® donne des résultats précis et fiables.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

LÉSIONS OCULAIRES

Le diabète est la principale cause de cécité au Canada. Les personnes atteintes de diabète sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de cataractes à un âge relativement jeune et deux fois plus susceptibles de souffrir de glaucome, mais la rétinopathie diabétique, une atteinte de la rétine, est la plus grande menace pour la vision des personnes diabétiques. Les lésions vasculaires et le gonflement des vaisseaux attribuables à une glycémie non maîtrisée sont à l’origine des troubles oculaires liés au diabète.

Vous pouvez prévenir les complications oculaires du diabète en allant chez votre optométriste une fois par an, en équilibrant votre glycémie et en maîtrisant votre tension artérielle et votre taux de cholestérol.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

DYSFONCTION ÉRECTILE (DÉ)

La dysfonction érectile est l’incapacité persistante à obtenir ou maintenir une érection qui permette une activité sexuelle satisfaisante.

Le risque de DÉ est plus élevé chez les hommes d’un certain âge qui souffrent de diabète depuis plus longtemps et qui maîtrisent mal leur glycémie ou qui fument, qui souffrent d’hypertension artérielle, ont un taux de cholestérol élevé ou sont atteints de cardiopathie, ou dont le taux d’hormones mâles est inférieur à la moyenne.

Le diabète porte atteinte à la paroi des vaisseaux sanguins, ce qui entrave la circulation sanguine et le flux sanguin vers le pénis. Les lésions nerveuses peuvent également nuire à la qualité de l’érection. La DÉ peut aussi être un effet secondaire de médicaments souvent prescrits aux hommes atteints de diabète, notamment certains antihypertenseurs.

Il existe des traitements médicaux pour la DÉ, mais le maintien d’une glycémie équilibrée est essentiel à la santé vasculaire. Il peut être gênant de parler de la DÉ au professionnel de la santé, mais il est important de le faire pour que celui-ci en cerne la cause exacte et détermine comment la traiter.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

LÉSIONS NERVEUSES

L’exposition prolongée à des taux élevés de glucose dans le sang porte atteinte aux nerfs périphériques, soit ceux des bras, des mains, des jambes et des pieds. On parle alors de neuropathie périphérique diabétique.

La neuropathie périphérique diabétique accroît le risque d’ulcères des pieds et d’amputation. Souvent, en raison de lésions nerveuses des pieds et des orteils, les personnes diabétiques atteintes de neuropathie périphérique diabétique ne sentent pas les petites coupures, les plaies ou les ampoules aux pieds. Faute de traitement, ces petites plaies peuvent facilement s’infecter, provoquer une gangrène et finir par entraîner l’amputation de la partie du corps touchée.

La bonne nouvelle, c’est que vous pouvez maîtriser votre diabète et réduire le risque de certaines de ces complications en obtenant et en maintenant un bon équilibre de votre glycémie et en collaborant étroitement et de façon continue avec votre équipe soignante.

Chez les personnes qui prennent leur diabète en charge, la glycémie peut être quasi normale. Le taux d’HbA1c témoigne de la glycémie moyenne au cours des 3 ou 4 derniers mois. Une baisse de ce taux de seulement 1 % permet de réduire le risque de complications futures, telles que la maladie oculaire, la maladie rénale et les lésions nerveuses. En savoir plus sur la maîtrise du diabète.

Haut de la page Go back to the top of the page

ÉCONOMISEZ 3 $ à l’achat de la crème pour le soin des talons Dermal TherapyMC

Restaure activement l’humidité. Aide à
prévenir et à guérir les callosités, la
sécheresse et les gerçures des talons.

Vous êtes atteint de diabète
et de fibrillation auriculaire?
Prenez les commandes!

Consultez votre médecin pour apprendre
comment réduire le risque d'AVC.